Hamster and Gretel (QuickBite Reviews)

Nishna Makala
1 min readAug 30, 2022

An interesting concept brought to life by Dan Povenmire’s unique episodic charm.

When Dan Povenmire announced his latest Disney project, Hamster and Gretel, I’ll admit I was skeptical. As much as I loved Phineas and Ferb, I was looking for something fresh and original. (Hence, you can plot the exact moment when Milo Murphy’s Law stopped working for me.)

That being said, Hamster and Gretel isn’t something fully deviant of Dan Povenmire’s work, still complete with his signature art style and quick-wit humor, but its still plenty of fun.

The premise is simple: What happens when a young girl named Gretel and her pet hamster get superpowers? Her older brother Kevin still needs to chaperone her as she takes on a slew of villains, of course!

The series is largely episodic. Still, each episode seems devoid of the sappy sentimentality that almost every episode of Phineas and Ferb and even Milo Murphy’s Law offered. It characters are static throughout the episode and sometimes uninteresting to watch on-screen.

For all my complaints with the show, its difficult to follow up on such a renowned cartoon like Phineas and Ferb. Compared to your average cartoon, its a 4 out of 5 stars from me.

--

--

Nishna Makala

A high school student with a passion for film, politics, and art.